Jose Mourinho - A "Translator's" Dream

Uploaded by showdebolapt on 01.01.2013

Jose Mourinho – A “Translator’s” Dream José Mário dos Santos Félix Mourinho (born
January 26, 1963) is a Portuguese football manager currently at Real Madrid. In the United
Kingdom it was popularized the nickname of "The Special One". In January 10, 2011, was
voted by FIFA the best coach in the world, for the 2010 season.
In 2003, he won the UEFA Cup with Porto and the following year the Champions League. On
May 22, 2010, won the champion of the Champions League, with FC Internazionale of Milan. He
is the first coach to win twice the National Championship, the National Cup and a European
competition, in the 2002-03 season with FC Porto (UEFA Cup) and in 2009-10 season with
FC Internazionale of Milan (Champions League).
At Real Madrid Mourinho Mourinho won the Copa del Rey (2011). In 2012 won the Spanish Championship
title that has escaped from Real for several years to the Rival Barcelona, and also the
Super Cup.
In the 90, Mourinho was at Estrela da Amadora (as fitness coach and then as Assistant) and
Vitória de Setúbal. In the mid-1980s, was hired to work with the English Coach Bobby
Robson at Sporting Clube de Portugal. Mourinho earns the nickname of translator, although
in reality is an important Assistant to Bobby Robson. Remains as the English coach's right
arm when changing to FC Porto and, later, to Barcelona.
When Robson goes to PSV, Mourinho remains in Catalonia with Louis Van Gaal, where again
gains a very active role as assistant coach of Van, though in the beginning his position
was put to the test by Van Gaal. Popular demotion reported in certain newspapers as a simple
Translator is factually incorrect.
In 2000, comes the opportunity to train as Manager in Portugal. Is chosen by Sport Lisboa
e Benfica to replace Jupp Heynckes after the 4th round of Superliga. When it begins to
win over Benfica fans (especially after the victory against rivals Sporting Clube de Portugal
by 3-0) there are elections at Sport Lisboa e Benfica. Changes the Presidency of Joao
Vale e Azevedo to Manuel Vilarinho. Mourinho leaves Benfica after 9 games. During that
time, is contracted to the União de Leiria, which would assume functions in 2001/2002
season and where will remain only till January 2002.
In January 2002, is chosen to replace Octávio Machado in charge of FC Porto. Finished the
season in third place, scoring a total of 11 WINS, 2 draws and 2 defeats,
Mourinho promises the title in the following season: "next season we will be champions".
With its tactical rigour and determination Porto grows in Portugal as well as well in
Europe. In two years they won two European competitions –
In 2003, Mourinho won the Portuguese Championship with 27 WINS, 5 draws and 2 defeats, wins
the cup of Portugal (against his previous Club, União Leiria) and wins the UEFA Cup
(against Celtic Football Club).
The following year, FC Porto managed to win the Premiership once again, now with 8-point
lead. Lost in Portugal Cup final against rivals S.l. Benfica, after triumphed in the highest
proof of UEFA, the European Champions League, defeating AS Monaco (3-0). Throughout the
competition Mourinho's FC Porto just missed with Real Madrid in the first group stage
and eliminated the United, Olympique Lyonnais and Deportivo La Coruna.
In June 2004, becomes one of the highest-paid coaches in the world earning about 5 million
per year at Chelsea. Mourinho took with him his assistant Baltemar Brito and André Villas
Boas, fitness coach Rui Faria and goalkeeper coach Silvino. The fortune of Russian Roman
Abramovich helps to hire Tiago Mendes (Benfica), Didier Drogba (Marseille), Arjen Robben and
Mateja Kežman (PSV EINDHOVEN), Ricardo Carvalho and Paulo Ferreira (FC Porto).
In December 2004, Chelsea was already leader of the English Premier League. In February
27, 2005, defeated Liverpool 3-2 in the League Cup and won his first trophy as coach, outside
of Portugal. Two months later, April 30, 2005, Mourinho becomes the English champion after
having won the Bolton by 2-0. Chelsea FC had not win the Championship for 50 years.
The May 3, 2005, is eliminated from the Champions League by Liverpool in the semi-final, after
elimination in the quarter-finals FC Barcelona. Mourinho never forgot that he lost based on
a goal that actually did not exist. The following season, 2005-2006, Mourinho and Chelsea FC
won the first League.
The September 20, 2007, Jose Mourinho and Chelsea reached mutual agreement for termination
of contract. However on September 18 the confirmation of resignation had already been known.
After a few weeks when rumors circulated that it would be coach of Inter Milan, it was made
official at June 2, 2008. It was also confirmed that Barcelona would have shown interest in
its hiring, but the negotiations ended without success.
As usual, Jose Mourinho brought his technical team ever, the Portuguese Rui Faria, Silvino
and Andrei Villas Boas. In addition to these, Giuseppe Baresi was elected to carry out the
duties of assistant coach Jose Mourinho at Inter. On April 28, 2010, Jose Mourinho qualified
for the second time, after 6 years, to a Champions League final, defeating Barcelona in the semi-final
(3-1 win in Milan and defeat by 1-0 in Barcelona).
On May 22, 2010, became champion of the Champions League, with Inter, winning the final against
Bayern Munich led by his former mentor Van Gaal by 2 goals.
Jose Mourinho became the first coach to win the National Championship, the National Cup
and a European competition, in the 2002-03 season with FC Porto (UEFA Cup) and in 2009-10
season with FC Internazionale of Milan (winning the Champions League).
In May 26, 2010, the President of the Club Real Madrid announced Jose Mourinho as the
new coach. In April 20, 2011, Mourinho wins the 1st title in charge of Real Madrid, the
Copa del Rey, with a goal from Cristiano Ronaldo. In 2012 won the Spanish Championship that
had escaped for several years to the main Rival of Real Madrid - Barcelona. Jose Mourinho
also set a new record at Real Madrid, the best-ever average wins per games, beating
coaches like Capello, Beenhakker, Villalonga, Miguel Muñoz.