Hicâz makam lesson Ross Daly Labyrinth Crete

Uploaded by jfish501 on 05.01.2013

Makam Hicaz consists of a hicaz tetrachord starting from A,
going to B, which is slightly sharp and then C# which is slightly low,
D and E are natural, the F# is slightly low, G is natural
and when the melody descents to the base
the F# changes to F (natural).
(for this session the instruments are tuned a tone higher, so finger position A produces the tone B a.s.o., but we still call the notes by the finger position and not by the actual tone)
(the dominant tone of makam Hicaz is D, namely the 4th degree and it’s also a symmetrical makam)
(which means that it’s extension below the tonic is the same as the register from D to A2)
We see how hicaz makam
evolves in the lower register,
using the basic hicaz tetrachord
it does a short cadence at 5th degree
then ascends in the higher register where
the rast tetrachord is very distinct
and as it descents to the base the F# changes to F (natural)
it may also modulate to a similar makam called Nikriz
which starts a tone lower and introduces the note G before the final cadence
(G is also the leading note of makam hicaz, a whole tone below the tonic)